Jefferson County

Tennessee Voter Guide – 2022 Primary Races

How To Vote For, Not Against, Your Values

Ratings: Every candidate is considered after thorough research; we also have a questionnaire for candidates to complete, including our Tennessee Taxpayers Protection Pledge.

Our highest ratings go to candidates who will defend freedom, stand for free enterprise, or have a conservative and/or biblical worldview based on their ability to stand firm against efforts to increase taxes, size of government, weaken law and order, and crush individual freedom. Here is our rating system:

  • ***** The best candidate. Our strongest endorsement.
  • **** Very good.
  • *** Acceptable.
  • ** Vote only to prevent worse candidate(s) from winning.
  • * Terrible. Do Not Vote. All your other votes will count.

Search Your District





 Constitutional Amendment 1Makes it illegal for workplaces to require mandatory labor union membership for employees as a condition for employmentYES
Constitutional Amendment 2Provides process and line of succession for acting governorYES
Constitutional Amendment 3Repeals language allowing slavery or involuntary servitude as criminal punishmentsYES
Constitutional Amendment 4Removes section of Tennessee Constitution that disqualifies religious ministers from being elected to the state legislatureYES
Tennessee; Jefferson County, Governor of Tennessee; General Election

Bill Lee, Republican (Incumbent) **** (Endorsed)

Jason Martin, Democrat *

Constance M. Every, Independent (Not Rated)

John Gentry, Independent (Not Rated)

Basil Marceaux, Independent (Not Rated)

Charles Van Morgan, Independent (Not Rated)

Alfred O’Neil, Independent (Not Rated)

Deborah Rouse, Independent (Not Rated)

Michael E. Scantland, Independent (Not Rated)

Rick Tyler, Independent (Not Rated)


Tennessee; Jefferson County, United States House Representatives, District 1

Diana Lynn Harshbarger, Republican **** (Endorsed)

Cameron Parsons, Democrat ***

Richard G. Barker, Independent ****

Matt Makrom, Independent ****


Tennessee; Jefferson County, US House, District 2

Tim Burchett, Republican **** (Endorsed)

Mark Harmon, Democrat **


Tennessee; Jefferson County, TN House Representatives, District 11

Jeremy Faison, Republican (No competition, Will Win)


Tennessee; Jefferson County, TN House Representatives, District 17

Andrew Ellis Farmer, Republican (No competition, Will Win)


Tennessee; Jefferson County, Road Commissioner District 3; Unexpired Term

Joe Ralph Simpson, Independent (No competition, Will Win)


Tennessee; Jefferson County, City Commissioner, City of Baneberry (Vote 2)

Tom C. Carter

Gary Zander


Tennessee; Jefferson County, Alderman, Town of Dandridge (Vote 3)

Mike Chambers **

Jeff B. Depew ***

Todd Kesterson **** (Endorsed)

Ellen A. Longmire ***


Tennessee; Jefferson County, Mayor, City of Jefferson City

Mitch Cain (No competition, Will Win)


Tennessee; Jefferson County, Councilman, City of Jefferson City (Vote 2)

Kevin Bunch **** (Endorsed)

Bethany Jones ***

Sheala F. Purkey **


Tennessee; Jefferson County, Alderman, City of New Market City (Vote 2)

Wayne Guinn **** (Endorsed)

Frank Solomon **

Lori Stiner Tucker **** (Endorsed)


Tennessee; Jefferson County, Alderman, Town of White Pine (Vote 3)

Tyler L. Marshall *** (Endorsed)

Robin Parker *** (Endorsed)

Josh Sinard *** (Endorsed)

Whitney Woods **

Don’t see your county? Contact us at 615-490-8832 to learn what can be done.

For Voter Registration Lookup & Absentee By-mail Ballot Status Click Here.

Be sure to let your friends and neighbors know about the voter guide.

Note: We do not take money from any candidate for their endorsement. For over 20 years – we never have.

No corporations, political party, or group supports our research or efforts.

Only because of individuals like you are we able to publish a comprehensive voter guide.

To get updates, results, and other critical information… Sign up here.